Now I'v done it..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default Now I'v done it.....

Biostar M6VLQ

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I bought this mobo to replace one in an IBM. I tried to clear the CMOS data by unplugging the power and switching the CMOS jumper from 1,2 to 2,3. After that, the computer will not boot at all. It doesn't show any signs of life at all. I may have to send it off to have it fixed. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

GGOODY is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Use your instruction manual that came with your motherboard to make sure that all the jumpers are where they're supposed to be.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you remembered the simple things like putting it back to 1,2 and making sure the PSU switch was on. Not insulting your intelligence or anything because I do that kind of crap all the time.

Other than that I've never heard of a board simply not working after clearing the CMOS....generally it's the other way around, board doesn't work, clear CMOS then it does.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
you remembered the simple things like putting it back to 1,2 and making sure the PSU switch was on. Not insulting your intelligence or anything because I do that kind of crap all the time.
few...i thought i was the only one that has done that.....
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I did remember to put it back on 1,2 but the board is just dead. I have an Ohm meter so maybe I should check that out to see if anything is getting power. One thing else is that the battery on the board was out of the socket when the clear CMOS was attempted then it just wouldn't fire up at all. I've never ran across this problem before. It's weird.
GGOODY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.