Nothing at startup, blank, no beep (new comp) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2004, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default Nothing at startup, blank, no beep (new comp)

Configuration:
I have the following hooked up
ASUS P4800 SE
3.2 GHz Intel P4
Videocard (that works on another computer)
512 MB RAM DDR400

Problem:
Nothing happens, nothing beeps at start up, there is nothing on the monitor and I have no clue what's happening. When I turn it on, I see the spinning of fans (heatsink & video card). Yes I am sure everything is hooked up correctly. I suspect the motherboard is malfunctioning, but from my experiences, ASUS are superb performers. Any suggestions?
__________________

tekno_ct is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

Well you didn't list you Hard drive!
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Default

you don't need a hard drive to see something happen. to hear beeps. it's a preliminary test to see if any of the initial parts are malfunctioning. apparently, something is wrong and the hard drive is not involved.
tekno_ct is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

try lowering the jumper settings on your FSB. Lower it to the lowest settings. I know this will lower your chip speed but is okay. Once the comp is working just reset and put them back to normal. My comp did this when i first built it. It was like it needed a jump start or something. Although it was AMD not Intel. Anyway i hope this helps

goodluck
sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.