notebook cpu speed differences? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2005, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

does that mean i could buy a socket 478 pentium M and put into my computer and expect pretty good performance out of it or will that not work at all?
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Put it this way...If you put a plain desktop CPU in a laptop, it would probably burn out your battery in 5 minutes and melt right through the plastic of the case.

Mobile chips are meant to run cooler and with less power. They tend to make the chips run cooler and with less power by taking a high-speed chip and underclocking it, labeling it a mobile chip.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

ok but if i placed the mobile chip into my desktop what would happen?
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 01:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Well, your mobo would have to support it, since mobile chips aren't really just underclocked chips. That was layman's speak. Second, nothing really...just you'd be cheating yourself out of power, and that mobile chips tend to be more expensive.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 02:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,278
Default

Quote:
There's really no such thing as a Intel Centrino Processor. Intel Centrino is a combination of technology that optimizes mobile productivity.
Thats not nececarily true. if ther WAS no such thing as a centrino processor then why would they have comercials of it and be using it like a pentium4? I was also told that the centrino processors are supposed to out-date the p4's and intel will use them instead. IDK if this is true but ive only heard about it.
Quote:
The reason is very similar to the reason that AMD's run at lower clock frequencies than (most) Intels, yet have higher performance than clock speed would seem to dictate -- A difference in architecture.
SO your saying intel jacked amd's cpu architecture or what? If not then please PM me and explain what your talking baout besides the l2 cache. Do they use the quantum speed architecture or is it basically a new chip or what?
Quote:
does that mean i could buy a socket 478 pentium M and put into my computer and expect pretty good performance out of it or will that not work at all?
well acording to this
Quote:
The 1.8GHz CPU that you are refering to is the Pentium M. It was designed from scratch to provide better performance with less power consumption. The clock frequency of a Pentium M cannot be direcly compared to that of any other processors. For example, a Pentium M 1.6GHz, like I have in my laptop, is said to have comparable performance to a Pentium 4 3.06GHz. The 1.8 is compared to the 3.2 or 3.4 (I can't remember exactly).
you should be able to put it in there and not only out perform but be cooler! If thats true of course. then again look at amd's cpu line and obviously a slower clock speed is working. Sorry if it takes me awhile to respond to any comments about my post i have to type at school cause my phone was shut off and i have dial up.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 05:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Thats not nececarily true. if ther WAS no such thing as a centrino processor then why would they have comercials of it and be using it like a pentium4?
........

SO your saying intel jacked amd's cpu architecture or what? If not then please PM me and explain what your talking baout besides the l2 cache. Do they use the quantum speed architecture or is it basically a new chip or what?
........
Actually it is definitely true. The processor that so many refer to as a "Centrino" is actually a Pentium M. Here is a quick synopsis of what Centrino really is (quoted directly from Intel.com):

Intel® Centrino™ mobile technology is Intel's best technology for notebook computers. More than just a processor, it features fully integrated wireless LAN+ capability and breakthrough mobile performance while enabling great battery life in lighter, easier-to-carry notebook PCs.

Intel Centrino mobile technology includes the following components:


Intel® Pentium® M processor
Intel® 855 chipset family
Intel® PRO/Wireless Network Connection Family


And as for the architecture question... I was simply providing an example of how a completely different architecture can provide higher performance at lower clock speeds. They didn't (as far as anyone besides Intel knows) steal technology from AMD, but these new chips run at lower clock speeds and provide equivalent performance to higher clocked Pentium 4s, just like AMDs.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 01:56 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

http://www.x86-secret.com/articles/c...5/dfi855-9.htm
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_cont...esktop&page=11

wow lol maybe its just me who has just come upon this but man it looks like for my next upgrade i might just do a pentium m set up
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

does anyone really know if i can use the centrino on my desktop Mobo?
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 11:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DyNaStY336
does anyone really know if i can use the centrino on my desktop Mobo?
YOU ABSOLUTELY CANNOT USE CENTRINO ON YOUR DESKTOP!!!! HOWEVER, YOU CAN USE A PENTIUM M!!!

...It's already been done in fact.
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.