Not Recognizing Hard drive Capacity!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default Not Recognizing Hard drive Capacity!!!

I have a 160 GB external hard drive (basically a 3.5 inch drive in a enclosure) connected to a tablet PC, but it only recognizes it as 127gb, i'm pretty sure its because of the size limit problem, but i remember that it was fixed with windows xp sp1 (i have sp2) so i'm not sure what it could be, please help if possible, thanks!

`Joseph
__________________

AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

depends on the tablet pc's bios/storage controller, if its limited to 127GB there isnt much you can do even if the OS is ok with it

check the specs of the tablet PC
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

this can be done when you startup only correct? delete key or in my case "press jog dial?" haha, thanks for your help, i believe that the bios should be ok, because this is the size where high-capacity hdd's always break with this bug, but i have to give it a check

`Joseph
AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

no, goto the website or owners manual of the tablet pc your using and look up its actual specs and see what it supports, it may be limited to how much hard drive it can handle, this is very very common

long ago, PC's initially had a 2GB limit, then 8.4Gb, then some had a 134GB limit(some still do,older socket A mobo's are often like that), now its quite a bit bigger

some of those limits were hardware, some were software, you may be in a situation where the OS is ok, but your running into a hardware or firmware limit, there may even be a firmware upgrade, dunno, all you can do is check
horndude is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

oh ya, one other distinct possibility here,that thing is an IDE drive in a USB enclosure right?Well, its got circuitry inside that adapts the IDE to USB so your system can use it, that may be limited to 127GB as well, check that too
horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.