not booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default not booting

My PC was in storage for 5 months while we built a house. I hooked it up last night, turned it on, everything fine, logged onto internet, okay too. Disconnected from internet. Did a scan disk, everything okay. Went back in the room later, the computer was like it was on standby. Nothing on the screen, just red lights where you turn the computer on and off at. I shut it down by holding the button in and restarted. It sounded like it was trying to boot, but didn't. Just continues to show red lights.

Fans seem to be working. What should I do?

Thanks A lot.
__________________

kmreed is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

Was your storage climate controlled? It really just sounds like a loose connection. A friend brought me a computer that had been in the back seat of his car in the middle of summer for a half day. Symptons were the same as yours. I took it apart, cleaned it, reseated the memory and boards (don't need to touch the CPU), and it has been working fine ever since. If you are going to trouble shoot this system, you will have to minimize it anyway (take out components to isolate the problem). Take the opportunity to clean (compressed air - don't touch connectors unless the appear tarnished) and reseat your cards.
__________________

gsbtech is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

It was not climate controlled. The climate would have been more cold than hot. I did clean with compressed air. Explain reseat your cards. I'm not totally computer illiterate, but I don't want to do anything wrong.

Thanks

Kmreed
kmreed is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
EGM
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 57
Default

I think with reseating your cards he means this:

Power off your PC, disconnect you PC, touch the central heating of your house, or disable possible static charges on your body otherwise (there are tools for this).

Unplug your card, and put it back into the slot (I gues you should put it into the same slot again). And unplug all plugs in the system, and replug them the same way they were when you started.

Good luck,
EGM
__________________
-\"If you try to fail, and you succeed, did you fail at all?\"
EGM is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I went home and checked everything, nothing seemed loose, although the fan in the center of the CPU was very dirty. I cleaned it with compressed air and it seems to be working, but still nothing as far as the computer booting up.

What next?

kmreed
kmreed is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

hmm try a diff vide0 card?
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.