Not all it's cracked up to be... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2005, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Not all it's cracked up to be...

Today I went to Best Buy and got a PNY GeForce 6600GT, AGP version. Tomorrow, I'm going to take it back. It's weird, but the 6600GT wasn't all I thought it would be. I'm upgrading from a GeForce 4 Ti 4200 64 MB card, so I thought the improvement would be huge. I mean granted, the game looked nice and stuff, but it wasn't a big enough difference to justify $200 bucks. I guess this is a just a warning to those of you who are considering buying it. Make sure that you're a hardcore enough gamer, for one, and two that it will be a huge difference. If I was into gaming enough, I would probably recommend making the jump to the 6800GT, as the difference will be more noticeable. I can't wait to get back to my trusty Ti 4200
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There's no way that a Geforce4 Ti 64mb version would even come close to comparing to the 6600GT. What did you run to come to this conclusion?
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

My best guess is you're still playing older games so the difference isn't noticable, or you haven't tried fiddling with AA/AF or vsync.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I was playing 'Call of Duty', and with the Ti 4200 I can run the game on 1280x1024 with everything on medium-high, not quite high, and get like 70-90 FPS. With the 6600GT, granted everything was turned all the way up with 4xAA and 8xAF, but the difference wasn't as great as I thought it would be. It was somewhat disappointing.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

After your infamous thread about Best Buy, I'm kinda surprised you went back.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

As far as I'm aware COD is not a very high demanding game. FPS are going to cap, the more FPS you have to start with the sooner that's gonna happen.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
After your infamous thread about Best Buy, I'm kinda surprised you went back.
Hahaha, me too. I go because I know they're not going to trick me into buying something ridiculous.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
As far as I'm aware COD is not a very high demanding game. FPS are going to cap, the more FPS you have to start with the sooner that's gonna happen.
That's true, but I thought I would see a big difference with 4xAA and 8xAF with everything maxed out. Maybe I should try on 'Doom 3' or 'Far Cry' or something.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

yes Try doom 3 & farcry! then you may change your mind, wats ur system specs?
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

CPU- AMD Athlon XP 2500+
RAM- 512 MB Corsair XMS
Motherboard- Asus A7N8X-X
Hard Drive- Western Digital 80 GB
Video Card- 6600 GT or Ti 4200 (obviously)

Oh well, I'm sure I could find a better way to put the money to use.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.