Northbridge fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2005, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66
Unhappy Northbridge fan

I have built my first computer about a week ago and just today my northbridge fan died on me, and i didnt notice it could it have damaged the comp. also it will rin then it will shutdown but i have restarted the comp and everything SEEMS to be running fine, i would just like to know if there is anything wrong at all and if it there is something worng is my motherboard or is it just a lousy fan. the fan iahve came with my motherboard its a giga-byte motherboard.

Intel extreme edition 3.2 ghz
nvidia geforce 6800gt
creative sound blaster 2 zs
1 gig of ram
ati tv wonder pro
250 gig western digital caviar hard drive
cdrw cd r dvd r dvd rw cd dvd(all in one drive)
4 80mm fans
500 watt power supply
giga-byte 955x royal

bwisdom is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 06:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

Did the motherboard come with the northbridge fan, or did you out it on yourself? If it came with it then you'll want to replace it, as it's obviously supposed to be there.


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66

ok the fan didnt come on the motherboard. it came in a separate package and then installed it on the motherboard.
bwisdom is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 66

but it came with the motherboard i didnt buy it seperate . but as i am typing this the fan is working and has been for the last 30 min but about an hour ago i would turn the comp on and the fan would die and i would then restart my comp and the fan would work also this happened after i installed easy tune 5. i just dont want anyhting to be wrong because i have to pay for this thing for a year and i dont really have any way of paying for new crap because i am only 14. its annoying that after all that hard work a little annoying problem like this happens.
bwisdom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.