normal temperature - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2004, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

I just downloaded MBM and it says my cpu is 63 degrees C and my case is 51 degrees C. My mother board is either the shuttle an35 ultra or an35n ultra... I am not sure because I had this comp. built for me and the manual has both of those models on it. I went with the an35n ultra when setting up the MBM. If this is wrong would the temp. of the cpu and case be off, and why doesn't it give me the temp of the mobo?
the processor is an amd athlon xp 2600+

so is it too hot?
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 02:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default

I think 63 c is scorching.. your cpu should really never breach over 50 c in temp... thats what i have read... but i think that mbm5 would work off if you have the wrong board on it... i would try the other board and see what it gives you ... cause you can always switch back..

Eric
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Alien Case(Red)
6 Green LED Fans
Aspire 420W power Supply
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
Western Digital 160GB HD (SATA)
Samsung DVD-Rom
Lite-on DVD/RW
Kingmax 512MB DDR4300 PC3500
Ati Radeon 9600XT 128MB
SureShot is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 04:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Default

so guys...
I just wanna know..
wat's the normal the temp for a PIII cpu and case or MOBO?
tx
nfs_bsr is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 06:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SureShot
I think 63 c is scorching.. your cpu should really never breach over 50 c in temp... thats what i have read... but i think that mbm5 would work off if you have the wrong board on it... i would try the other board and see what it gives you ... cause you can always switch back..

Eric
i tried the other one and its the same
Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SureShot
....

Eric
looking at your specs in your signature I see that you have an amd ahtlon fx 2500+ ... are you overclocking it at all? I can't decide to either get an athlon 2500+ and overclock to 3200+ speeds or buy the 3200+? Obviously getting the 2500+ will save me some money. thanks
Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think the max for a PIII is usually around 70 C. Have a look here, to find your specific CPU:

http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...asp?ProcFam=25

I dont think 55 is too hot, but the lower the better. My P4 runs at like 30 C unloaded. My MOBO is usually around the same.
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Default

I have a p4 2.2. The CPU runs at 40 and the mobo at 30. I had some major problems when the computer was first put together, but a nice big case fan soon sorted that out. Some heat conductive gel on the processor always helps.
hooloovoo is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 08:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Arctic Silver 3 is awesome. Lowers the temp by like 3 C degs.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-28-2004, 10:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7
Default

my P4 2.8Ghz W/Hype runs at 91 is that to high
YourHostSucks is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 12:26 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

AMD says anywhere in the 50's is ok. lo to mid 60's start worrying. They won't give an exact number because of the inaccuracies in temp sensors etc.. They have a temp range code in their part number system but they are all a within 10 degrees or so.

Sounds like your cpu is either overclocked or overvolted or both. Possibly your heatsink is not mounted properly (backward) or has inadequate thermal transfer material (paste or pad).?


core voltage should be 1.65 - can you verify?
__________________

Grok is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.