Is this normal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2004, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Question Is this normal?

I bought a processor for the computer I just put together. I was wondering if the temperatures are normal.

**Processor: Pentium 4 2.8E GHz w/ HT (PRESCOTT)
**3 case fans, all sucking air out...I don't have any fans pushing air in

I used some of that silver stuff between my cpu and heatsink I forgot what it's called.

Temps:
Idle: 35c-41c
Load: 48c-52c

One time under *heavy* load it hit 55c but that hasn't happend for 3 days.

Thank you for all of your help and advice in advance.
__________________

Logan is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Those temperatures are fine for a Prescott.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 07:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Okay, thanks! I was just a little worried because I had nothing to go by...there was no documentation on it or anything. I didn't want to burn it up . Thanks for your fast reply.

P.S. Sorry to ask another question but:
When should I start getting worried (what temperature is too hot)?
Logan is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 08:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Anything past 60 C is when I would start worrying.
Wensicia is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Huh, you do not have an intake fan? You need at least one intake fan, prefferably in the front of the case. Air will move a lot faster and cooler in your case and cool your comp down a few more degrees. Those temps seem fine by the way.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 12:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yes you should have a intake fan just .Also you can go into your bios and set your computer to shut off if it gets to hot.It gives you options that is if your mobo has that funtion.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

if you have 3 fans im guessing you have one on the side of ur case... push that to sucking air in and you should get better temps... also if you have one in the front of ur case make it so it also pushes air into the case... then ud be left with one exhaust but also remember that the psu has a minimum of 2 fans that it uses to bring the hot air out of the case and the psu
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Default

For those of you who suggested that I change the window fan to intake instead of push out, thanks! I took this suggestion and did it last night and my temperatures dropped. When I'm gaming I'm at about 43-45c now where I was hitting 51-55c before I took the suggestion. Thanks again, much better temps!
__________________

Logan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.