nooo! a moment ruined!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default nooo! a moment ruined!!

Well today is of course pay day. I decided that after work i would head to the computer store (instead of going home and sleeping ). i bought my new PSU, a 485W ENERMAX. I got home, with an anxiouty in the air, i rush up stairs to install my long awaited NEW PSU!!... well it turns out that i should have done some research because the MAIN CONNECTOR WAS TO BIG!! man o man was i disapointed . Well out of a sense of splurging im gonna go out and buy a new mobo. haha.

Recommendations plz!

Cheers-

P.s. my comp specs are in the sig and keep in mind BUDGET. no high tech expensive stuff
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Yikes!.. So u want to buy a new mobo just for the PSU man? Why don't u return the PSU and just get a compatible PSU?

If I remember correctly, the Enermax Noisetaker 485 W (which I presume is the one), has a 24 pin connector. And ur mobo has a 20 pin?.. If that's the case, why not just get a adapter?
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Well i just talked to my friend down at the computer store and he pointed out that the connector end is removeable to fit the smaller connectors on the older mobos... if that makes sense. ANYHO, i am still thinking of gettin a new mobo.. or not.. i dont know, i just want peoples input mainly on if i should or shouldnt, and if so what kinda chipset

Cheers-
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
Yikes!.. So u want to buy a new mobo just for the PSU man? Why don't u return the PSU and just get a compatible PSU?
His new PSU prolly cost more than his mobo to begin with. Besides, upgrading mobo's is always a great thing to do.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
His new PSU prolly cost more than his mobo to begin with. Besides, upgrading mobo's is always a great thing to do.
If he still wants to upgrade the PSU without the motherboard he can tho. His connector seems to fit both.. Or otherwise as I said before, he could've just bought an adapter.

His mobo looks to be an AGP mobo. If he upgrades it, he'll have to make a decision about the vid card as well. I mean, might as well go with a PCI-E than another, but more expensive, AGP. Then there is the processor as well. His mobo seems to be a socket 478. And I am pretty sure he doesn't want his new mobo to be a socket 478. Essentially, he'll have to buy a whole new computer!
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If he's got an AGP mobo, and an AGP graphics card, why would he need to look for a new graphics card?

There's nothing wrong with 478. AMD Athlon XPs run on 478.

I would NEVER use an adapter to connect a PSU with the wrong molex connector to a motherboard. Connectors are standardized. if yours doesn't fit, it doesn't fit for a reason. Why take the risk? If his new PSU doesn't fit correctly with his mobo, he should either take the PSU back, or buy a new mobo. I find it hard to beleive that any moderately up-to-date mobo wouldn't be able to connect with any moderately up-to-date ATX PSU.

Lasrix, give us some details, buddy.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
If he's got an AGP mobo, and an AGP graphics card, why would he need to look for a new graphics card?

There's nothing wrong with 478. AMD Athlon XPs run on 478.
Whaa?? 478 is an Intel socket. And Athlon XP's run on socket A. Are you saying the sockets are compatible with each other? Never heard of that....

And I was just saying, while AGP based cards are still nice and dandy (I guess for the next 1 1/2 years or so), they will be phased out. So since the whole motivation behind this is "upgrading", I figured moving to PCI-E makes sense. But, his card is AGP.

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat

I would NEVER use an adapter to connect a PSU with the wrong molex connector to a motherboard. Connectors are standardized. if yours doesn't fit, it doesn't fit for a reason.
I believe the new 24-pin motherboard specification states that it "should" be able to work with old 20-pin power supplies. It is a requirement. And I can only assume the reverse is also true - new power supplies working with old mobos. The 2nd problem would be easier to solve than the 1st problem..
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

They make 24-to-20-pin adapters. They're cheap too. Get one of those.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

keep the mobo, p4p800 se is amazing.. u dont need a new one for the next year...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Well i got the PSU up and running!

Makes me feel good knowing that i have the extra wattage in my system just incase something is lacking.

As for the whole new mobo thing. As a part of my "phase 2" thread i posted not to long ago (should be phase 3), i mentioned that i wanted to buy Corsair ram. After some consideration i have decided to not bother with this upgrade because i dont OC my stuff (yet ). So instead of the new Ram im gonna buy a new mobo i think. of course this is at the end of my list to get, meaning i probly wont buy it for another half a year or more. (and yes, the p4p800-se is by far one of my favorite mobo)

As for the new mobo ive been eyeing, ive been looking into the Asus P5GPL, Socket 775, Intel 915PL Chipset mainly, and the ones surrounding that series. Im gonna do a bit of research and so forth.

Thanx for the responses

Cheers-
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.