noob question: Getting enough juice? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2005, 01:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Thanks alot...it looks like my PSU is enough.
Yes, mine too. Only 300W is needed for my system and I am currently running on a 550W PSU

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The best way to find out is to simply look at your voltages.

If you notice your +12v rail is dropping down to 11.5 or so then your PSU is getting taxed too much. Same with the other rails, if +3.3v is at like 3.1 that'll cause issues, if +5 is down at 4.5 or so that'd cause issues
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, my +12V is running at 11.584 as I speak. I guess I am going to need a new PSU.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Yeah, my +12V is running at 11.584 as I speak. I guess I am going to need a new PSU.
That sucks

HEY! THIS IS MY 1500TH POST!

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Nice, i must be close to 100 :P gee, i spend too much time here already! curse forums to the depths of hell
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
HEY! THIS IS MY 1500TH POST!

-Dan The Man
CONGRATULATIONS!
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
CONGRATULATIONS!
THANKS!

Oh, and by the way, my +12V is running at 12.99V...is that good or bad?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you serious?

You can generally expect a up to 5% fluctuation, meaning 5% is towards the end where you don't want to be at, because at that point the lines is being taxed too much.

5% of 12 would be .6 so that'd be 12.6 or 11.4

It would raise a flag for me, buuuut I suppose if you aren't noticing any major stability issues then it could be something as simple as the voltages being read wrong.

Is that through BIOS or monitoring software or both?
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:29 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I used Speed Fan to detect that.

EDIT: It just changed to 13.06V...

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 01:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah that's definitely not a good thing by all means.

Have you checked in your BIOS to see if it corresponds to what speedfan is getting?

You definitely wouldn't want your PSU overvolting.

SOMETIMES <--- not all the time lol, don't want you get paranoid, but sometimes it can mean the PSU is about to go out, voltage spikes etc..
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.