Non Retail AMDs in Australia - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default Non Retail AMDs in Australia

Anyone know any australia websites that dont only sell the retail versions of AMD 64 processors. I cant find any!!
__________________

Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

*sigh*
why we live in american...try finding some austrlians...
anyways, the reason you can't find anyone is that you need a site that is based and ships out of some where in austrialia. Why? You don't want to pay customs, shipping or handling, right? But it's just importing form germany or somewhere, so the site will have to pay shipping and handling....I may be wrong, I'm just guessing...and you Austrilians, please don't take any offense that i can't spell your country...your your countrie's name.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Non Retail AMDs in Australia

Quote:
Originally posted by Todd0
Anyone know any australia websites that dont only sell the retail versions of AMD 64 processors. I cant find any!!
No one has been doing that for a long time. It's been about 3 years since I have seen any OEM version of the CPU come through the channel.

Why you want NON RETAIL VERSION?

It means that you have to pay extra fro the fan.

It means you only have 1 year warranty, as appose to 3 years.

The warranty comes from the store / distribution channel that you purchase the CPU from, and not the AMD Aust themselves.

Last time I saw non-retail version of AMD CPUs (3 years ago), there was little/no saving between OEM and RETAIL product.

Quote:
Originally posted by emeraldice
*sigh*
why we live in american...try finding some austrlians...
* sigh * another amercian that thinks that only americans come to this website.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Reason being its so hard to find a PLACE THERE IS BECAUSE ITS SO BIG AND SUCH A LITTLE POPULATION.... until you hit sydney..... but still less than one person per square mile.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea...but people say that there's china, where population is so big, you'd think that businessmen for the past 30 years could dominate chinese economy and get rich....but they haven't...yet (closest one: wal-mart, and the closest thing to a computer they sell is those $500 laptops running open source oss)
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

There is a few parralle importers around here that might sell the product as OEM to the public.

I could name few. However since I am a AMD RESELLER myself, that would be a conflict interest to me.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I am also a resident of the land down under and looking for an OEM Athlon64. Every place i have enquired at says the same thing, Sorry only retail and theres not much difference in the price. Therefore i am probably going to get the retail version as many others have said you still get the 3 year warranty and get a spare h/sink fan just in case.
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by emeraldice
*sigh*
why we live in american...try finding some austrlians...
anyways, the reason you can't find anyone is that you need a site that is based and ships out of some where in austrialia. Why? You don't want to pay customs, shipping or handling, right? But it's just importing form germany or somewhere, so the site will have to pay shipping and handling....I may be wrong, I'm just guessing...and you Austrilians, please don't take any offense that i can't spell your country...your your countrie's name.
LOL at that ^ ^
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Reason being its so hard to find a PLACE THERE IS BECAUSE ITS SO BIG AND SUCH A LITTLE POPULATION.... until you hit sydney..... but still less than one person per square mile.....
most of Australia is desert. at least 90% of people in Australia live near the coast, mainly the east coast.

I don't think you will find an OEM AMD, but there is a branch called MSY which has a lot of cheap parts. otherwise CPL is pretty good
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

thanx apokalipse
__________________

__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.