Noises during installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

hu_xu

In Runtime
Hello this is my first time posting.

I searched the forum but couldn't find a similar question or problem.

My problem started when I was installing Half-Life 2. When the computer asked for the 2nd disc I put it in and I could hear the CD-ROM start spinning and then I clicked <yes> to signal to the installer executable that the 2nd disc was inserted. It went fine at first but then started becoming louder than normal and concluding with a loud noise like a power gritty screw driver for around 30 seconds until the end of installation for disc 2. The PC vibrated during the 30 seconds. After that I never heard the sound again for the rest of the installation (5 discs). I played Half-Life 2 with no problems and my PC has since not made any noises (I installed the game around 10:45am and it is now 9:40pm).

The DVD-ROM drive I installed the game with is a LG. The sound seem to be isolated to the DVD-ROM drive and not the hard drive. I read some posts where the hard drive makes rattling noises but my hard drive does not make those noises and I have booted up the computer successfully and silently for three times. The Half-Life 2 disc is not damaged...at first I thought the disc was being scratched in the DVD-ROM drive when that sound was happening. Once the CD stopped spinning the noise stopped...that is why I think it would be the DVD-ROM and not the HD. I have since tested the drive with other media content and everything seems to play fine and it also seems to read fine (no speed loss). The HD makes no noises except for it's occasional ticking when running something which is not loud and not for a long time (maybe 2-3 seconds).

I don't really know what went wrong but I rather hope it is not the HD. The DVD-ROM is easily replacable and I already have another DVD writer on top of it so I can easily just use that.