Noise through sound card, is it the Raptors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Question Noise through sound card, is it the Raptors?

I seem to be having a lot of interference with the sound output from my MOBO sound card. I have all WD HD's installed. I have 2 36G Raptors, and 3 200GB WD IDE HD's. I've even tried using the optical out put of my MSI K8N Ne4 Platnium MOBO. Is this usual? I can never seem to find a sound card that doesn't get intereference from some internal compinent.

Any suggestions or ideas here? Thanks a lot!
__________________

__________________
www.audituner.com
mikepg is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

It could be that there is a load of virbations going in your case. Maybe try getting some fan silencers and some rubber washers to absorb some of the virbrations.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

Personally, I have never had on onboard soundcard that hasnt had interference. Kinda annoying really. Even my new laptop has aweful buzzing when I move the mouse around or when the HD spins.
__________________


eipeks is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I don't get interferance with my opticle connection (onboard) to my surround sound.

maybe the wires?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.