No power when power sw. pushed.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2004, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default No power when power sw. pushed..

Exactly like the title says, I push the power button and I get no power @_@

The button is plugged in, the switch on the PSU is on, and the green light on my Soyo board is also on indicating the board is receiving power. I even tried another power switch thinking the switch had just gone out. This is not the first time this has happened either. A week ago the same thing happened, but finally the PC turned on, and then turned off and on just like normal for a week.

By the way, I'm using a Soyo Dragon+ 2 P4 865 board and a 2.8C. I have an antec power supply which is nearly new (although I don't think it has anything to do with the PSU).

Anyone have any ideas for me? I'm looking at new boards right now.
__________________

wh0a is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

probably its the cables
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

well...did you make sure that the power and reset and all of the front panel cords were in right? tripple check if you have to.
compy is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Well, since I posted this I have ripped out all the guts, threw them on an antistatic bag, and hooked up just what I need. That is, 1 stick of ram, cpu, PSU, and video card

I double checked all the plugins for power switch, reset, etc. I only have the power switch hooked up.

I took the PSU out of the P4 box and hooked it up to an AMD machine, and it powered on, however the AMD machine doesn't make use of the extra plug that is on a P4 PSU (can't remember what it was exactly). So it COULD still be a bad PSU, but it is unlikely.

I've tried multiple switches on my board now, and it still does not power on, so I'm thinking the board may just be bad.

Anything else I've missed?
wh0a is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Not to be a double poster, but this all started happening after I moved. I don't know what could have caused this though. I have a memory foam mattress, and when I moved the PC I stuck it inside the folded up foam so it wouldn't get jarred around in the truck. I think it is a coincidence, because I used to NEVER turn my pc off. I had an uptime that was nearing 100 days on a Windows box :P Finally, it gets shut off and won't power back on. The first time I tried to boot it up when I moved here, it did the same thing, only eventually it did boot up.
wh0a is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Push the button really really hard !
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nikkon
Push the button really really hard !
Haha! I did that. I pushed it as hard as possible, hard enough to hurt my finger. Then I smacked it a few times. No good.
wh0a is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Quote:
The button is plugged in
Pluged in as in power pluged in, or pluged in as in the two pin connector that goes to the mother board pluged it.

Check the two pin connector make sure its secure on the motherboard. I believe the label on it is power sw ?
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nikkon
Pluged in as in power pluged in, or pluged in as in the two pin connector that goes to the mother board pluged it.

Check the two pin connector make sure its secure on the motherboard. I believe the label on it is power sw ?
The two pin connector is plugged in, I even tried swapping it with a jumper after trying a bunch of other switches just in case
wh0a is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 03:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

I dont know how your case is set up so if this doesnt apply then just ignore it.

In some cases the button you push to start the computer isnt the acutally power button (its a button that pushs another button which is the power button). Try taking off your front panel and see if this is the case with your case (weird wording).
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.