No power to Cd-Rom! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2003, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 24
Default No power to Cd-Rom!

Ok guys my friend called me last night and his cd-writer was not working, so I went over there today to check it out. Nothing, the Cd-writer is not even powering up. Now the regular cd-rom is powering up just fine, so the secondary IDE controler is working. This is a presario 5000 (no need to start on compaq I built my own computer ). Here is what I have tried so far:

1)Rebooted computer, and no light for the writer (Eject does not work either)
2)Checked bios (although Compaq Bios sucks) reset defaults to no avail
3)Checked Device manager in safe mode, and regular it is not there (I earased the driver it had, and rebooted...nothing)
4)Tried moving cd-writer to the postition and power cable of the Cd-rom drive....still nothing
5)tried moving the jumpers to master instead of cable select...nothing
6)tried finding new hardware, it can't find the drive (imagine that)

Alright guys the only thing I can think of next is to bring the cd-writer to my house and see if it works. Any Idea?
__________________

mcgl0re1 is offline  
Old 02-06-2003, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

if you have used the cd writer with the cables that the cd rom was working on, and it still gets no power, the burner is toast, sorry.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 02-06-2003, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Yup, do what Microbell says, or try the burner in another comp as a last effort, but sounds to me like your friend has an expensive paperweight on his hands.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 02-06-2003, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

these guys are probably right, but the only other thing I could think of to look at would be the wattage on the power supply. if there isn't enough power in the machine for the cd burner, it wouldn't work either. so if it's a low wattage power supply, I'd recommend you try it in a more capable machine before you RMA the sucker.
Seloce is offline  
Old 02-12-2003, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 24
Default

Guys lucky for him he forgot to tell me he stoped a burning disc in mid process, by cancelling the whole screen. Of course this caused the drive to lock down with the disk. I manually ejected it and voila. It works great now. Thanks for the input guys.
mcgl0re1 is offline  
Old 02-14-2003, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

::rollseyes::

The little things DO matter when it comes to PCs.... lol
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.