No More Socket 754 Athlon 64 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 10:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yah it has 940 pins but it is not compatible with current 940 cpus.thats all i know about it.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 08:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=72296
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

mmmm new socket time, which means new upgrade time, which means no mistakes this time mmm

i was thinking of buying a cheap sempron s754
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

The Turions are 754's.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

socket 939 owns man!!
nuke is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
yeah, they're gonna move to socket M2 (Athlon 64's) and Socket F (Opterons)
That will be happening in June 2006.

And (even though AMD is denying it), I have this sinking feeling that Sepron is going to move over to Socket 939.
HOPEFULLY. AMD moved back to one processor socket again in June 2006.
This year, AMD has been $#I+ting me to no end with Socket 754 and 939 processors.
I used to be able to give people a cheap and ****y AMD Duron Desktop with good faith that will be able to put in a better processor ATHLON XP on the same board later down the track.

However with the fact that I need change the Motherboard as well as the CPU, I am better off going back to Intel.

However the problem with Intel that the price difference on both the board and the processors. Pretty much all the same with the Celeron and Sempron. However it's a different story when it comes to the Athlon 64 and Pentium IV.

Over all, I am glad that AMD is finally out selling Intel. However they are screwing aroudn the computer buyier that wishes to get a computer that they can upgrade later down the track.

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
yah it has 940 pins but it is not compatible with current 940 cpus.thats all i know about it.
Socket 940 is just there for the AMD FX RANGE. And if you can afford an AMD FX Chip, then you can afford to replace the motherboard every time you upgrade.

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
mmmm new socket time, which means new upgrade time, which means no mistakes this time mmm

i was thinking of buying a cheap sempron s754
Try and see if you can afford an entry level S939 with new week price drop.



Thankfully the motherboard manufacturers have started to ship out some AMD S939 ALL IN ONE motherboard.
I only just found out todat that can get the Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9 Motherboard.
I am quite sure that other manufacturers will be doing the same too.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 10:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Harper
That will be happening in June 2006.

And (even though AMD is denying it), I have this sinking feeling that Sepron is going to move over to Socket 939.
HOPEFULLY. AMD moved back to one processor socket again in June 2006.
This year, AMD has been $#I+ting me to no end with Socket 754 and 939 processors.
I used to be able to give people a cheap and ****y AMD Duron Desktop with good faith that will be able to put in a better processor ATHLON XP on the same board later down the track.

However with the fact that I need change the Motherboard as well as the CPU, I am better off going back to Intel.

However the problem with Intel that the price difference on both the board and the processors. Pretty much all the same with the Celeron and Sempron. However it's a different story when it comes to the Athlon 64 and Pentium IV.

Over all, I am glad that AMD is finally out selling Intel. However they are screwing aroudn the computer buyier that wishes to get a computer that they can upgrade later down the track.


Socket 940 is just there for the AMD FX RANGE. And if you can afford an AMD FX Chip, then you can afford to replace the motherboard every time you upgrade.



Try and see if you can afford an entry level S939 with new week price drop.



Thankfully the motherboard manufacturers have started to ship out some AMD S939 ALL IN ONE motherboard.
I only just found out todat that can get the Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9 Motherboard.
I am quite sure that other manufacturers will be doing the same too.
couldnt of said it better myself.

Amen
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I got one of my clients giving me a LOT abuse about this issue right now.
So I am just waiting for him to give me another LONG Abusive email that he wants me to forwards over to AMD.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.