No Internet connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default No Internet connection

Every now and then my PC is unable to connect to the net. My modem is fine, as is my service (the main PC still connects as does my brother's laptop; my PC and his LT are routed to the main PC's modem). Anyoe know what could cause this? Router problem? something to do with my ethernet in my pc?

also sometimes when i leave the PC idle for a while (more than 30 mins) I have to restart in order to connect. As if it just loses connection but a restart gets the connection back.

Any ideas?

If you need the specs onmy comp:

P4 2.8
Windows XP Pro
Asus P4S800D Mobo
1024 DDR Ram

and using Road Runner.

thanks in advance.
__________________

Jestah57 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

If you're using a wireless network, could it be the settings of the wireless router that make it "idle" after periods of unuse?
__________________

sugar_sweet is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

nah, its not wireless. I even unchecked the box in the device manager for my network adapter that says "alow this device to turn off to save power".

you can see how frustrating this can get?

Recently Even when I turn on the machine after having it off for hours there's no connection. Restarting dose nothing.

thanks anyway though....
Jestah57 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

hey, i had a problem like that a while ago, it was to do with my line filters, i had one on a phone line where i didnt need it, however my problem affected all the computers, so for you i would guess its your ethernet
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

so you think buying a new ethernet card is a solution? worth a shot, but why this would only happen now? any other thoughts?
Jestah57 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Replace the ethernet cable as well. If that doesnt work, call your ISP and ask them whats up.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

As for disconnections, call your ISP. Usually these are points when they're doing maintenance on the system.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

DO you use a P2P software?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.