No hype on 7800? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2005, 01:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

If you are satisfied with current playing games on "High" instead of "Ultra", you'll save quite a pretty penny.. Buying a 6600 GT now, and then will buy another card later in 2006 ..

Chankama is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

Wait, what's this about reformatting?
Also, There is still not much hype on either ATI or Nvidia's new cards.

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160

Originally posted by beedubaya
I am not going to get the 7800 right away, I am going to wait and see how the X900XT does and maybe if I can afford it, grab me one. It would be much easier moving to the X900XT anyways because I could just use a driver cleaner and re-install the ATI drivers. I wouldn't need to re-format.
Can't you just remove the old card and install the new one without touching the drivers?
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by Dan DeVille
Can't you just remove the old card and install the new one without touching the drivers?
In a perfect world yes, in reality no. Only swap which has been this easy was an mx400 to an mx440, and their virtualyl the same

And the 7800GTX looks like you will get the same peformance from overclocking a 6800GT
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

I uninstalled the ATI ulility from my 9200se and installed my 6600GT, put in the drivers and have moved on. No issues here.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.