No display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default No display

My friend had a old time 133mhz socket 7 machine.
Due to his cdrom is malfunction which cant detect cd that inserted, i hooked up another cdrom for him to try.
When i power up the machine, no picture appear on the screen including bios, the monitor cursor just keep on blinking and fade to black.
I pretty sure that maybe the display driver is corrupted, but how can i reinstall the driver without any other port for me to plug in d-sub monitor?
Is there any1 can solve this problem?

PS:the s3 is a pci graphic card~~~
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

If you unplug the new CD Rom does the computer work again?
If yes, look at the old CD Rom see if it as any jumpers on the back were you plug everything in, find what the jumper is plugged onto, should be one called CS/ Master/ or Slave, if it as none of these then try putting the jumper on the new CD Rom to CS.
__________________

Freelance is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 04:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I did try put back the original cdrom, but still when powerup, nothing shown on the screen including bootup POST.
Is there any1 has any ideas?
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 04:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Any beeps?

8 x Beeps is normally a sign of it saying that the Video Card is not woring.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.