no cd/dvd drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2003, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default no cd/dvd drives

just joined and hope i'm posting in the right part of the forum
if not, please let me know
anyway i just inslalled a new ati video card and put in some ram
i have a asusA7N8X VER2.0 DELUX motherboard
when i rebooted my cd and dvd drive were gone
went to device manager and checked the drive properties and got this message
"Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)"
no luck with troubleshooting or trying to reconnect/reinstall the devices
can anyone suggest how to fix this?
__________________

big-ed is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

It may be possible when you upgraded the computer that you unplugged the IDE cable from the board. It is odd that both of these devices do not work, becuase they are most likely on the same cable. Double check that, if not i have heard of alot of people having issues with that particular board. You may want to seach or look on the manufac. faq. I would look at the simple stuff first.
__________________

__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default

thankyou for the reply
i have checked ide cables and they seam ok
slave and master jumpers ok and corrospond to cmos settings
i will try the man faq as you suggested
big-ed is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

try the devices individually, see if one works and one don't. also, since you have been inside the machine, if you have an extra IDE cable try a new cable.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

First thing to check is see if they are coming up in your bios. Upon boot, press the "del" key while the memory test is running. The first screen you see in the bios should tell you what drives are connected.

If they arn't showing up there then you need to double check your install of them. If they are there, then it's an OS issue.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

**WARNING** ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE MAKING CHANGES. IF YOU DON"T YOU WILL BE SORRY***

Strangley enough I think I know the fix for this.
I had a problem with Easy CD creator loosing drives in Win2k a year back. The problem was due to a Key being created in the HKLM\system\controlset001\control\classes\...(what ever the guid is for your devises)
The key was upper Limits and lower limits.
If you delete the values of the two keys, the problem is gone and the drives work. I have no idea why this is, but when I found it, I about died from excitement... Seems to work for this problem even without ECC being present.
Might want to give it a try...

**WARNING** ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE MAKING CHANGES. IF YOU DON"T YOU WILL BE SORRY***
Inaris is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 06:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it might be that the actual IDE cable is faulty
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default

thanks for the advice i was going to reinstall windows xp but i seemed to have killed my motherboard (psu is working but no post- tried replacing each of components with ones from a working pc including cpu,memory and video card. no luck.
its my own fault for trying to mess around with the bios without having the first clue what i was doing , well excuse me while i jump off of that bridge
big-ed is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 06:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 26
Default

Inaris

I had the problem you talked about just last week. Easy CD Creator and Nero can cause it. Mine was with a Lowerkeys value only and deleting the value solved my problem.

What I read was either product can cause the problem by entering these values on top of the Microsoft drivers entries.
It can present itself as a code 41 or in my case a code 19 corrupted registry entry.

I believe you made a good call.
cyber_surfer is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 12:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default

took my hard drive, cd and dvd and put it in another mobo
and same problem code 41, so i tried a windows repair with no luck and went for a format and reinstall of xp and the disk drives working fine now.
__________________

big-ed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.