Nid HElpp (Harddisk) here please help me please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to stichjc84
Default Nid HElpp (Harddisk) here please help me please

Thanks for reading this, Help me please, i was just using my computer then it crash (harddisk problem western digital [wdc 20 gb].), when i turn on my computer my harddisk sound like this (click at least 2 to 3 times) then click again, i am very sure it is haddisk problem any one there can help me please or if there is no solution how can i retrieve my data ther please help me. thanks again.
__________________

stichjc84 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

so can u boot? i suppose not. if the hdd is clicking it probably is not a good thing because what would be causing it is the servo.... still a hdd should last quite a long time after this starts and caviar's are pretty quite so if its still under warranty and u havent messed with it contact wd
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to stichjc84
Default

nope i cannot boot, it's just clicking and click while detecting, it's ok to loose my hdd is there anyway to retrieved my data there i have important programs and decompiled files there i have no back up my is in the partition there in the same drive
stichjc84 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hook up a different HD that has XP installed on it and set it as the master hard drive. Make your non bootable HD a slave and if you cant get your files after that... get a new HD.
lithium is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to stichjc84
Default

do you mean if i will slave my hd it into a xp PC installed i can recover my my files there? how can i recover my files if my hd cannot detect, or it is possible that XP can detect my broken hd thanks for your reply.
stichjc84 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

i once had to recover some data from my mean&nasty hd (20gb maxtor), i used Tiramisu and my frien's pc. it wasn't the easiest job, but got done.


http://www.totalshareware.com/Asp/de...pplication=333
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to stichjc84
Default

ok thanks i will try this link
__________________

stichjc84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.