Nforce4 SLI Roundup..Best SLI Boards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default Nforce4 SLI Roundup..Best SLI Boards

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2358

Relatively long article. Comparing ASUS, Gigabyte, DFI, and MSI.

Basically it's in this order from best to worst (mainly based on OC'ability along with overall performance although of course one board will have features another doesnt):

DFI
MSI
Gigayte
ASUS


heh, always have said ASUS sucks They do get some benches though. If you look through all the benches every board is at the top atleast once. So they all provide excellent performance in atleast one area, but ASUS just couldn't hang when it came to overclocking. But yeah appearantly ASUS sucks at AMD but excell in Intel based boards..who knows. But still some interesting facts.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

hmm.. really nubius? i had a DFI board be4 i had this asus and asus to me oc alots better

i got 300mhz up on that from my asus and for my dfi board sory buht i have no screenshots buht i remembered that i got it to 250 and it was really really unstable. well, iono... i like my asus board =D

*edit*
heres the pix..http://img34.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img34...ntitled2yk.png
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well, it's not me saying this. It's the article. The DFI board hits 318MHz on the memory while the ASUS can only hit a max of 255


Quote:
i got 300mhz up on that from my asus
On your RAM meaning DDR600? I'd have to see screens to believe that.

Also what are you trying to show with that picture? 235HTT isn't an insanely high OC for the HTT, but they are using RAM that's MADE for high OC's. PQI Turbo series is good overclockers RAM, but I see yours is PC3600 so I'd expect the higher HTT by default. They are using PC3200 that's heavily OC'd.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

I still like DFI over anybody else.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah DFI looks the route to go.

Hell, my A8V is OC'ing higher than their SLI without any voltage changes to the mobo.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

well i was tryin to say that i hadnt had a good experience with dfi buht yes i agree asus sucks soo hard because its just i cant pinpoint it buht its like it doesn just like AMD lol. U guys have any reason why? im really curious cuhz it seems like my old 533mhz celeron wid a asus mobo runs really good together.
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I dont believe andatech's article anyways

Tons of BS on their
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
seems like my old 533mhz celeron wid a asus mobo runs really good together
Appearantly asus makes better Intel boards than AMD.

Quote:
Tons of BS on their
Ok like what exactly.......
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Bah... who needs SLI??

(hey, I'm on a budget!)


Interesting, I'll give it a read. I usually don't check Anandtech.
I'd probably either go with MSI or Gigabyte, if I could afford it.



-x86
__________________
~~~~A Mac Story~~~~
(requires Windows Media Player)
x86angler is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, I'll never get SLI unless I win the lotto or something like that. But other than that I don't consider it a practical application for getting awesome graphics. We need a card we can afford without mortgaging the house and car and selling your family into slavery, but can still play the games at high graphics.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.