nForce3 vs. VIA... Chipset? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 09:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default nForce3 vs. VIA... Chipset?

I never gave much thought to system chipset on motherboards, but I was wary of VIA, because the other option was nVidia nForce3, which is standard on the MSI Neo2 mobo I'm looking at.

I found this on nVidia's page, but I'm missing something. Does this mean that the mobo, that part of how the system works at the most basic level, is handled in part by an nVidia chip? That's great, but I thought that's what the CPU was for, exclusively. I'm new in hardware, but I'm learning...
__________________

Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

The Chipset connects it all up.. Pci bus Memory..usb all of that

get the nforce 3 250gb>Via kt 800
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

250gb what?

Planned system: AMD Athlon64 3500+, MSI Neo2 Platinum mobo, 2GB some generic PC3200 RAM, [brand undecided] 256MB 256bit GeForce 6800GT, 74GB SATA WD Raptor 10k RPM HDD, [brand undecided] 1x dual layer dual format DVD burner, case undecided.
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD±R Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Nvidia Nforce3 Ultra 250GB is the Chipset on the Msi K8n Neo2 Motherboard
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 11:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Stay away from VIA if you can help it. The manuf.'s are idiots.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Stay away from VIA if you can help it. The manuf.'s are idiots.
Thats a bit of a harsh statement.

Actually VIA is ok the KT800 And KT890 are actually pretty good. Other than those chipsets the rest are ****.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yeah, VIA's alright...They just have a tendency to throw fits on soundcard and vidcard manuf's, which leads to events like the early days of the geforce3 cards where anyone with a VIA chipset was screwed for 6 months.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 02:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, I have a VIA chipset, and I am guessing thats the source of my poor X800 Pro performance, because my benchmarks are too high for it to be the card, and I have awesome memory. I can't think of what else it could be.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It's you, beedubaya...it's you...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 03:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

I would personally (and just have) go for a motherboard with one of the new nForce 4 chips on it!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.