nforce3/Athlon 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2004, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes
Default nforce3/Athlon 64

Hi there,

I'm looking to purchase a new motherboard and PC Pro (UK mag) recommends the Shuttle AN50R. Firstly, is this just for Shuttle-style cases or will it work in any ATX case? Secondly, is this nForce3 board Athlon 64 processors only?

I have a couple of computers, both with Athlon XP CPUs (1.7 and 2.0GHz). Will either of these work with this board?

If not, what boards do people recommend for Socket A?
__________________

koltregaskes is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

For athlon xp go with Nforce 2 ultra
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 04:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes
Default

OK, cool, that was going to be my next question.

I already have an nForce2 board, is the Ultra version the best nForce board (I've noticed there are many variations)?
koltregaskes is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 04:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes
Default

I have found a version fews of this chipset as well, nForce2 Ultra, nForce2 Ultra 400 and nForce2 Ultra MCP-T.

What does the MCP-T mean?
koltregaskes is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the chipset does not usually determine the CPU supported, it is the socket. you can get boards that have Socket A which support the Durons, Athlons and Athlon XP's, you can get socket 754 that support Athlon 64's (not FX's) and Opterons, and you can get socket 940 that support Athlon 64 FX's (not the normal Athlon 64's)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 06:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

also, with Intel they have socket 478 that support Pentium 4's and Celerons with the 478 pin design, there is socket 370 (which is really a slot) that support Pentium 3's and socket 370 Celerons, and socket 603 which support Xeons.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 07:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to koltregaskes
Default

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I realise all this, but does anyone know what the difference is between Ultra 400 and Ultra 400 MCP-T?
koltregaskes is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 07:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ive just been searching, and i found that the MCP-T is an entirely different chipset, which has onboard sound
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.