for the next generation of rig-building-newbs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2005, 10:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

twinmos= http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820218062

modstream= http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155

hard drive= 2* http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144152

(those hitachi's are crash-prone, known as deathstars)
[to edit use the blue button under your pic that says "edit"]
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

so do i set up the voltage in BIOS? and is it hard?
im loving the price btw

any1 disagree with these?
__________________

__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 10:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well you're gonna have to learn about the dfi board before you do it

the DFI board unlike other boards has the 4vdimm jumper where u can change the number so that it allows you to go all the way up to 4V on your ram (most boards only allow 2.8-2.9V)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

not very difficult though, but yes, after board is set right, just flick it up in bios. although i'm not sure if even the twinmos can handle a full 4v stream. could be wrong though.
GageMW is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

That NEC is a sweet burner btw. I got one just recently. It's like the cheapest one compared with lite-on and others and yet it also has the faster burning speeds.

Not sure about the hard drives, I would have thought that Hitachi would make good hard drives. I mean that is a Japanese company right?

I would personally get an audigy sound card, but that's just because I play games and sound blaster is better for gaming. For music the M-audio might be better, I'm not too sure myself. The Audigy 2 ZS is a bit cheaper than that M-audio as well.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

so u think the $85 ram is as good as my other?
__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

alright i understand the how im going to change the voltage, but how do i know what to change it to?
what tells me? will it say on the ram?
__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
twinmos= http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820218062

modstream= http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155

hard drive= 2* http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144152

(those hitachi's are crash-prone, known as deathstars)
[to edit use the blue button under your pic that says "edit"]
I think his ram is better than the twinmos now, and it's IBM deathstar

Not Hitachi deathstar, once IBM's hard drive division got sold they got better.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

thx chris and gage,
just saved me $30
__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 159
Default

but i still dont understand how i will know what voltage to put ****.
im suddenly getting some cold feet here. this whole mobo configuration stuff seems too easy to **** up with. like what if i put too much voltage and fry my ram or video card
__________________

__________________
emancipate yourselves from mental slavery, for none but ourselves can free our minds.
c4sTr0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.