NewRouterForMe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2005, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Default NewRouterForMe

I just picked up a Linksys Etherfast Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch, model no.:BEFSR41
Well, my question: do I have a hardware firewall now? and if so do I have to do anything to set it up or does it just automatically start 'firewallin' as soon as it's hooke up? cleary, I am a true virgin techie thanks tho
__________________

DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Im going to take a shot in the dark here, from what I know about routers from my own use. Someone can correct me if im wrong. Basically if your hooked up to the router, your being blocked from all incoming traffic. By that I mean you yourself can download stuff, but no one can send anything to you. I don't know if that makes sense at all. What a router does basically, is create an address for every computer on the network something like 10.0.0.1 and so on. But when a computer trys to access your network, or send files, they don't get 10.0.0.1, they get the address of the router itself, which is completely seperate from the individual computer address. Thus you wont get any of the incoming traffic, the router just blocks it. Whichs makes if fairly good at blocking the nasty stuff on the internet, like virusus and trojans. Its not a firewall necessarily I dont think, but it does a good job. In the future though you may want to allow incomining traffic, which can be done by port forwarding, but thats a whole different subject.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

sometimes they have built in firewalls and other times they just block all incoming traffic
by all means your pretty much safe
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Yeah it has a built in firewall that should come turned on by default. You can double check its settings to be sure.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yep it has a fully configured hardware firewall in your case on that router.

And blackmoore what kinda router do you have that's 10.10.10.X adresses, those are usually very expensive routers like mine.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Default

thanks. esp. you chris, i was waiting for you to chime in especially. i havent been here long but i already know that you have an....umm..."unnatural" expertise in the cases of routers :amazed:
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am more educated than most here, but I know almost nothing in the networking.

EDIT: I actually have a BEFRSR41 right here. It was a great router for about 4 years, but it got dropped too much and it decided to stop working. Everything is fairly simple and it's real good at handling multiple PC's. Almost thinking of buying the BEFRSR11 (It's your's with 1 port) as backup's for my network.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 249
Default

once I connect my sister's comp to this router, how easy will it be for her to send stuff to my comp via our network? cuz i just wanna get her comp on the net...she doesn't know squat about anything and I dont want her to be able to send me anything she downloads. no exceptions hehe
DefragMyHead is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well it's very easy

You go into control panel and turn off the windows firewall, and if you insist on using software firewalls you need to configure them.

We are going to assume you guys are in the same workgroup named MSHOME as that is the default.

You go into my computer and on the drive or folder you want to share, right click, sharing and security ect.

Now this is the part that makes it real easy, go into your sisters computer > my computer > tools > map network drive. Than you browse for the folder \ hard drive on the network that is shared.

Now, your folder \ hard drive will have a letter in "My Computer". You can now ascess it as easy as your C drive.

However remeber by default windows XP will lock "documents and settings" and you will not be able to see My Documents or Desktop. You can turn this off, but I forget how.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

I have that same router and you have to manually block all the ports you dont want to be used.
__________________

xenosoul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.