Newegg upgraded it's search system :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Newegg upgraded it's search system :)

Go to Newegg and type in a name of a generic item. "7800GTX" or "Athlon 64" for example.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

THANK GOODNESS...I hated their old one
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, Oregon
Posts: 145
Default

Yeah, I noticed that...
__________________
Completed 1st System:
Case...Antec Super LanBoy $30
PSU...Antec SP2.0 500W $50
Mobo...MSI K8N Neo4-F $85
CPU...Athlon 64 3200+ Venice $162
Video...EVGA GeForce 6800 GS $196
Memory...OCZ 1GB (512MB x 2) $60
Hard Drive...Hitachi 80GB $20
Gaming without lag...priceless.
newcement is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Whats different about it?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Yeah, I don't notice anything really different?

I do notice the difference when going through the categories, the advanced search is now different.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I don't like the way you have to navigate it. I didn't try the search function though.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Haha, looks like they switched it back to the old one.

Weird..but ok...
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I think it depends on what you are looking for.

Hard drives and RAM use the new system.

It's gonna take some getting used to.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

good thing, their search system sucked before. it would be easier to go to google, or search yourself for your product instead of using neweggs search. neweggs search often left out products.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 04:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
neweggs search often left out products.
That's because they weren't all categorized correctly. They'd leave out minor details on one part and add it on another similar part, and in some searches because of that it wouldn't bring up the item. They need to do some remodeling on their site and that should fix the problem.
__________________

NathanM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.