Newbie question about adding more memory. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 42
Default Newbie question about adding more memory.

Hey guys, right now I have 256mb or pc2100 ddr ram. Ive been wanting to upgrade this department for a while, and I finally have the funds to do so. I was looking around on some sites for a 512mb stick, and they say that you have to install memory in pairs of 2 in order to get the dual channel function.

I dont know if that applies to me, but would I be able to just add a 512 stick to my existing 256, or do I need 2 matchin sets of memory.
__________________

adinu is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i'm thinin' you don't have duel ram anyway because you've only got 1 stick of 256..but i could be wrong.

if you don't, you can add another 512 single stick of pc2100, or you can get a single stick of pc3200 (make sure you mobo can support that...check your manual)
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

for setting up a dual channel setup you need 2 identical sticks. Your best bet is to buy a dual channel kit from corsair, kingston etc. They come with 2 identical sticks of 256. If you buy a kit, you are guaranteed good dual channel stability and speed. Your old stick you can sell on Ebay, or build a second system with it or give it to a friend because you wont need it if you buy a dual channel kit
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check the manual if your mobo supports dual-channel.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 02:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, good point, if you only have ddr 266 (pc 2100) your mobo might not even support dual channel
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Default

what is the benefit of having dual ram?
and how do you use it?
what exactly does it do
__________________
Compaq Laptop. Intel P4 3.0 with HT tech.
15.4 inch brightview tech.
ATI 128mb 9600
60GB HD
Wireless
512mb of ram
CD-RW
Alexqd3 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

well, ddr 400 can transmit data at 400mhz. so for P4 systems the ram sends data to the cpu every 2 clock cycles because the p4 system bus is 800mhz, twice the speed of the ram. Dual channel gets 2 sticks of ddr 400 and lets the cpu talk to one of the sticks of ram every clock cycle so no cycles are wasted.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.