Newbie Question: 64Bit Processors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 11
Default Newbie Question: 64Bit Processors?

Hi, forgive my extreme noobness but I assume a 64-Bit Processor can run a normal 32-Bit version of Windows as an OS; it's Windows 64 Bit Edition that's famous for its incompatibilities, correct?
__________________

Tecknoholic is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 07:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Correct.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Yes, 64 bit Processors can run 32 bit Programs and Operating systems. However you do get a performance increase by running 64bit Os, Drivers, Programs etc. Since Windows XP-64 is really screwy, stay with 32 bit for now.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

There is currently only one 64 bit processor known to man. It is the Intel Itium. However, it does not operate because no man can write code for it. All the "64 bit processor's are actually 48 bit"

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Uhhh.... not quite.

The reason nobody can write code for the Itanium is because there are no good optimizing compilers out there that can do the neccesary code scheduling to take advantage of the VLIW architecture that the Itanium uses.

The 48 bit thing you are referring to I believe is actually 40 bit, and that refers to how much physical memory a processor can address. 2^64 can address an impossibly large amount of data. In fact, I read once that this can address more memory addresses than there are particles in the universe, or some such unbelievable number.

The 64-bit thing actually comes into play in that they actually CAN accept 64 bit instructions. That means MUCH larger data types (32 bit integers, etc) can be moved into the CPU much faster or in parallel.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

IBM is actually about to release/announce their 64 chip tomorrow i think for their PC line. So AMD won't be the only one now.

-Aaron
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Don't forget Intel has 64 bit also in the form of EM64T
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

wtf???

AMD, Intel and IBM all make 64 bit chips.

The Itanium 2 was a piece of crap.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheHeadFL
Don't forget Intel has 64 bit also in the form of EM64T
EM64T? Why aren't they advertising it?

Anyway IBM has had a 64 bit chip out for a while for their mainframes (i actually think they are almost ready to release their 128 bit chip) but they are now releasing their 64 chip for their X Series (what they call their desktop and laptop series) Computers. Which is why i don't know why apple switched to Intel (IBM is a better manufacuter of chips). I know its a little off topic.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

lol, 64bit isnt the majority ATM, i dont think we are ready for 128 bit for a long while.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.