"newbie" question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2004, 07:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87
Default "newbie" question

I am wondering if it's possible, and if so how to, hook up an old hard drive in a computer that already has a HD in it, and get stuff off of it. Or would it be best to just remove HD and replace it with the old one and get your stuff off, or can you make it the slave when things are already set up on your computer?

Noxious is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155

Yes, you can hook up a second HD to your computer. You can set the second HD to slave and you should be able to get what you want from it.

wannabe_hacker is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87

So just put it in and hook it up to slave IDE?
Noxious is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155

No its not enough to just hook it up to the slave IDE port. You have to set the jumper settings to slave on the drive itself. Then you just hook it up to the slave IDE and it should work fine.
wannabe_hacker is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

then u can format the new HDD according your old HDD file system. By then u can backup your data on the new HDD from the old HDD.

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 02:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

sorry for another stupid question but what is a slave drive? is it just a back up drive with the same stuff as the the first just incase the first goes kaput?
compy is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684

All that the slave means is that the OS is not on it. Its just a secondary drive. The OS must be put on the master jumper settings. As long as the jumper settings are correct, it doesn't matter what HD is connected to which connector.

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans

My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260

There are instuctions on the HD about how to set master/slave jumpers. Just follow them and hook them back up and its all good
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

a master hard drive usually has the OS, a slave is just one drive letter up, but there is not much difference; just look out for conflicts between 2 drives - so they are not both master or slave at the same time
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 87

So set the jumper to slave on the old HD and hook it to IDE cable.

I am a little confused by Didi's post. Please explain what you mean by formatting the new HD by the old one's file system?

My new one is formatted with C and D drives. The old one I am pretty sure is just C. (it's been a few years) It also has Windows ME on it and this one has XP.

Noxious is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.