New Windows for Mobo Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2004, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default New Windows for Mobo Upgrade?

I'm going to do an overhaul on my system by putting these components in:

SiS 661FX/ 964L Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 800mhz w/ 1mb cache
2 x Crucial 512 mb ddr/400
Nvidia Geforce FX 5900

A couple of questions for you guys who know the answers:

1. How am I going to get the windows xp I am using now to mesh with the components I want to put in.....will I have to buy a seperate retail version of Win to get it to work

2. Am not getting a new hard drive....do I need too? I currently am using a Western Digital 100gb that is approximately 1 1/2 yrs. old and has been very pampered, i.e. regular defrag/fresh windows install. Will the HD be fine or should I upgrade that to?

3. Is this upgrade going to give me the speed increase that I am hoping for? Am now using a
P4 2.0A gig w/400 fsb
2 x 256 mb Kingston
Geforce FX 5200 (non-ultra suck a$$ version)

Thanks JG
__________________

jg4064 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 09:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

It seemes like the mobo you are looking to buy is Micro ATX. This means that it's smaller than the average sized mobo. Make sure that your components will fit, the Geforce FX 5900 is a rather large video card.

1. It depends on what version of XP you have bought. Some will only work with one particular computer (or computer part).

2. No need to buy a new HD unless you feel you want more space. In which case, you can always get one later on.

3. Yes. Especially when it comes to 3D graphics
__________________

__________________
System specs:
Mobo: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
CPU: PIV 2.80 HT
RAM: Kingston 2*256 3200
HD 1: IBM 80GB 7200
HD 2: IBM 40GB 7200
CD: NEC (anno 1996)
GC: Radeon 9600 Pro
fiezk is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

You should not have any problems with the OS and the hardrive. I do not personally recommend an SIS mobo. Asus or the intel original boards are better. Get a prescott at 3.2 GHz minumum or it isnt much good. Would also recommend an ATI graphics card.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

I Reccomend getting the northwood edition of the processor for a few dollars more. Runs cooler. But like someone else said I reccomend you not get the sis board and get an intel or asus with either the 865 or 875 chipset. Also is your case mirco atx?
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Alright, if windows xp is already installed then all should go well. However if you try to reinstall it with the new motherboard, you'll have to call microsoft and ask for a new key. Make sure you tell them that you got a new motherboard.

I'm not sure but I think you can only renew XP 3-5 times. After that things start to look suspicious. And don't renew XP several times in a short period of time.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

Let me explain the thing between prescott and northwood. Northwood is better at around 3 Ghz or less, while the prescott owns all after 3.2 Ghz. The Prescott is also better technology and who cares about heat, get hte stock intel cooling gets the job done on my friends prescott just fine.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 04:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Ok ATI? All the benchmarks that I have seen show that the 5900 performs better than the 9600 which is the max I'm willing to spend for a Vid Card (around $170 Newegg)

Also, I thought that having 1mb cache would be faster than the 512kb that the northwood has....was I wrong or would the difference be small.

Last, my case is an ATX not a micro......so point in the direction of the motherboard I need for my stuff to fit all nice snug.

Thanks JG
jg4064 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Bigger cache doesnt mean faster but got advanced in dealing with huge file
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.