New WestDigit 80GB wouldn't work on a PII 400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2004, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 220
Default New WestDigit 80GB wouldn't work on a PII 400

I have a PII 400 with 128MB ram pc home. The pc comes with a 4.8GB HD, it is really small since I am going to install XP on this machine.

Therefore, I bought a brand new 80GB WesternDigit for this machine. The computer hangs and wouldn't boot after I connected 80GB.

I set the jumper to Single or Master on the 80GB, it still doesn't work.

The 80GB HD works fine with my Dell P4 and my PII 400 works fine with my old SeaGate 4.8GB HD.

Can someone help?
__________________

Discusman is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Look for a bios upgrade from the motherboard, to support larger HDs, if not you will need to get an ATA/100 IDE PCI Card.

I had the same problem with a computer. I ended up having to get a PCI IDE card
__________________

rasputinj is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I don't think u'll be able to run that hdd this machine .. even if u update the bios .. i would suggest the ATA PCi card itself
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 02:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by preet2u
I don't think u'll be able to run that hdd this machine .. even if u update the bios .. i would suggest the ATA PCi card itself
I did not think so either, but since he did not go into what board it was I did not want to assume. I have seen one board that was an MSI P2 board, that the bios upgrade supported the larger HDs, but it was one of the later P2 boards, that also had ATA100 support. But that is the only one I have seen.
rasputinj is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

The disk translation software that came with the hard drive should allow you to run that drive even in a PC that doesnt support large hard drives. Have you tried that yet? If you don't have the disk, you should be able to get it from the hard drive manufacturers website.
-Target
Target is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.