A new Virus - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2004, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Exclamation A new Virus

What should I do if I have a virus entered my BIOS somehow.

The reason I'm saying this becos my computer been having some weird problems lately. My keyboard don't work properly, it exactly works after a severe attempt but then some keys don't work. Sometimes those keys that don't work, works but only for a few minute or seconds and then goes back to its coruptious state. Does anyone ever have these type of problem, if not, can anyone please give an idea, if I have a virus in my bios what steps should I do to fix that. I tried to reinstall my windows, but I'm enable to do so becos some keys don't work and I can't even type some CD-keys(serial #).................
__________________

nu_in_tha_spot is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

Im betting its a faulty keyboard. You spill coke in it? ive done that to 2 different keyboards. That exAct same thing happend to them to.
__________________

__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

I have tried different keyboard which is even worst. Becos the other keyboard don't work at all. So my conclusion came to a virus becos I had a virus warning. Which said "You have a virus detect on your computer".
__________________
Mandrake 9.2/Win XP
Asus A7V333 Socket A
AMD Athlon 1800+
DDR260 RAM 512MB
Maxtor 6L080J4 80GB
Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB
Creative SB Audigy
LG Burner 32X 10X 40X
Standard 101/102 Keyboard
PS/2 Mouse
RealTek Ethernet NIC
KDS USA monitor
1394 Net Adapter
nu_in_tha_spot is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Default

If it is a bios virus, which i dont think it is(you probably have a faulty connector) REINSTALLING WINDOWS MIGHT NOT HELP. I've made a few viruses myself and i know that it is possible to create one that will create its own "partition..." However, that is VERY RARE, ive only seen one, so it is my guess that it is a connector problem... ive never heard of a virus that does such things... And it's VERY rare for a virus to survive without the OS it came to.
I suggest reinstalling windows again... MAKE SURE THERE ARE NO OTHER PARTITIONS. if you do this correctly,t he only other option will be that you have a FAULTY CONNECTOR FOR YOUR KEYBOARD.(ps2/usb, whatever)
good luck,
best wishe

Dimitri
Dimitri is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Default

if the virus is actually IN your bios... go to the manufacturer of your motherboard's homepage, download the newest version of the bios, put it on a floppy, and UPGRADE IT!
good luck again
Dimitri
Dimitri is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.