New video card in this system... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default New video card in this system...

I currently have a P4 2.8C @ 3.5GHZ, 250MHZ FSB with 1GB Corsair PC 4000 Ram, ATI Radeon 9800PRO 128 @ 425/365, Abit IC7-G motherboard etc.. and wanted to know if upgrading to a X850 PE, X800 PE or X800XL (either of the choices) would be a wise decision or not. I'm just wondering if these video cards would be too powerful for this system or not and whether or not I should upgrade the system completely before upgrading to the next video card. (I'm also considering if it ever comes out the ATI video card with 512MB, 24/32pipelines etc.)
__________________

goku2100 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

your card is still decent, i wouldnt upgrade now. I would upgrade later when some new technologies are introduced.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Well lets say the card died (it didn't but hypothetically) and wanted to replace the card with the above choices, would it be a good idea? I mostly want to know if the current generation cards would be bottle necked by this system or not.
goku2100 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

they wouldn't be bottlenecked at all. many ppl game with much lower-spec cpu's without any problems.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Don't worry about upgarding now, your all good and their's new cards just around the corner
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

If you do want to upgrade, DONT GET THE X850 XT Platinum Edition!! Its like $300 more than the X850 XT for only a 20mhz increase in clock speed. Thx X850 XT is extrememly powerful, i run half life 2 at highest settings and scored 75.5 fps on CS: Source with it.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Im wondering why that p4 has a 250FSB.
xenosoul is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

probly because its overclocked
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Don't upgrade unless you are going to go for the 6800 GT. If you want to go ATI, wait for the R520, which will have Pixel Shader 3.0 and will be able to play new games maxed out unlike the X800/X850 series.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
probly because its overclocked
BINGO! I'm surprised he didn't just "assume" that it was overclocked when I said @3.5GHZ 250MHZ FSB. I'm also wondering if my current system was running at default speeds (2.8GHZ 200FSB) would be the bottleneck if I were to put in an X800 PE, X850XT, X800XL or not. Just seems that because most systems have been hovering around 2.8-3.4GHZ that default clocked systems should be fine as well.

BTW if possible, could anyone guide me to a site with a list where a certain graphics card should be paired with particular CPUs to be in balance.
__________________

goku2100 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.