New Video Card install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2004, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Exclamation New Video Card install

I just installed an ATI 9100 PCI video card in a Dell Dimension 2400. The machine did not recognize the card and the video did not work. I uninstalled the PCI card and rebooted. Now the computer will not recognize the original card. I have no monitor capabilities. Any suggestions.

mdbman66
__________________

mdbman66 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Download latest drivers to these cards, install them, and everything will be fine.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Default

That's a great idea but I have no video. How do I get past this?
mdbman66 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mdbman66
That's a great idea but I have no video. How do I get past this?
Have you tried resetting the bios? If you would like to try it, just remove the cmos battery on the motherboard.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Default

Wow. I'll give it a try. Thanks.
mdbman66 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Good idea, maby something it BIOS gone wrong...
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Default

removing the battery did not work. Any other ideas?
mdbman66 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mdbman66
removing the battery did not work. Any other ideas?
Did you put the battery back in? Sorry I have to ask this, if only you knew what people do with their computers.....
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Default

Yes. How long should the battery be out? I only took it out and placed it back in right away.
mdbman66 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mdbman66
Yes. How long should the battery be out? I only took it out and placed it back in right away.
I generally wait a few seconds. Although im not sure if it really matters, unless the cmos has some kind of capacitor that regulates its voltage, in which case you need to give it about 5 seconds to clear.
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.