New Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default New Video Card

What do you guys think of this card that i just bought. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...125-140&depa=1 How well do you think it would run Sims2 ? or Half-Life 2 ??
__________________

__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

64-bit BUS for the VRAM?

The Sims 2 will be fine... But you are going to have some trouble with HL2.
__________________

FrontSide is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I dont think it should have a problem with the sims. But HL2 is really a high demanding game man. You can try playing it on low settings. Remember thats a 64bit video card, im pretty sure HL2 demands 128bit, even if the games says other. Hell its worth a try rite!
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

lol that card is junk
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

well compare that card to what i got now, and as far as price range thats all i can afford right now. Anyways, i dont have HL2 i was just wondering if it would play it. But i do have sims2 and id like to play it, still havent been able to play it since christmas. thanks for the advice
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigtimeballer50
lol that card is junk
The card is far from being junk.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Hey, check out http://www.xhardwarereviews.com/x300se.php

Has a comparison against the 9550.

HL2 will run, not too well, but 800x600 medium/low it should be fine. As far as the Sims2, I ran it at about 15 FPS on my laptop (about 1/2 the speed of a 9550) at 800x600 mediumish settings.

How much $ did you have?
__________________
http://blog.gandmcomputers.com
http://hwa.gandmcomputers.com <- Check out the new benchmark competition on the block!
gregm is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

yeah, i thought it was a hell of a deal, thats why i got it.
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

i had about 100 bucks, but i needed 40 to go ice fishing this weekend. so i spent the other 60 on the video card. And neweggs shipping is awsome, only like a 1.99 !!
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea that card is all right for the sims.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.