New Video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2005, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Unhappy New Video card

I just purchased a New 32MB GeFORCE NVIDIA from a guy on ebay, and maybe its me but I put it into my 800 PIII IBM NetVista
6648-SBU running XP Home with 32MB onboard video and get nothing but a black screen??? even after I installed the drivers nothing but a black screen, so I put it into a old 450 PIII compaq
Deskpro with XP Pro and it works until Windows finds new hardware and installs drivers and must restart computer and then it restarts and again nothing but a black screen
A friend of mine said I have to disable the onboard video, Ok
so how do I do that, he don't know.
So is it me or is the video card dead, and if I do need to disable onboard video how do I do it
__________________

Roaddog is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default

You'll have to either disable your onboard video through jumpers on your motherboard or through its BIOS. Consult your computers manual for more information.

If disabling the onboard video doesn’t work then it's probably the video card that has the problem.
__________________

iceware is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Go to the Manufacturer web site, there should be jumpers to shut down the onboard video.. ALso you may be able to look on the board and see the jumper.. If you see it just move it over from 1 position to the other then just leave it.
__________________
Trukindave

Always on the road and smokin the BigTruk
TrukinDave is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks guys for the help, but someone emailed me and said I can turn off onboard video in Windows display advance setting and it worked.
Thanks again
Roaddog is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

How much did you pay for it?
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Also, uninstall your old drivers while you are still using your onboard graphics, before you install the new card.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.