new system, now windows error? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default new system, now windows error?

i just setup a new system from the ground up. everything checks out ok and windows goes through the 'loading etc' page, but when it says starting windows....

it goes straight to the 'windows has occured an error and has shut down' page. 'if this is the first time blah blah'...

what happened? everything checks ok as being fine in the bios.

i hadn't installed any software on the system.

- p4 2.8ghz 800mhz fsb
- 512 pc3200 ram
- 256mb pci-x radeon x700
- memorex 52x cdrom
- 120gb ide hard drive

i didn't hook up my 2 front-side USB ports, and i have a small cable i can't identify its location. its like a plug for a fan, but smaller, and 2 pronged instead of 3 pronged. its from the case itself. where could it go?
__________________

tedness is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

no ideas? i don't wanna take it in to a shop.
__________________

tedness is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

try getting an updated version of the bios for ur mobo and flash it?
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 12:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

wow...how do i do that?
tedness is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

eh, i have no idea, sorry, u gotta ask one of the more experienced people here

u COULD try going to the website of ur mobo's manufacturer and look for ur specific model and find the newest bios and then google a site that teaches u how to flash ur bios?
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://www.techist.com/computer_arti...g-recovery.php

That's basic information on BIOS flashing I wrote a while back.

Find the appropriate BIOS for your board. Find out what flash utility you need based on the maker of your BIOS, (Award, AMI, Phoenix)

Generally your board manufacturer will have a link to a flash utility near the place where you actually downloaded the BIOS.

Read the instructions carefully and have at it.

Be warned though if you screw it up, accidentally power down, have a power failure during the process, or flash with the wrong BIOS you will leave your motherboard completely useless. I even wrote some info regarding BIOS recovery, buuuut since it sounds like you're fairly new to it, I doubt you'd be interesting in hot flashing, so be careful and read up
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.