new system drive transfer question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2005, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default new system drive transfer question

I'll first give my situation, I would like to know if there is anything that will help me do this.

I have installed xppro on a hard drive after wiping it clean, I do this every so often. But now I have a new hard drive and would like to make this one my system drive with the os and programs on it. I dont want to go through a whole day of installing evertying and doing software updates. Is there any software that will transfer everything from this drive to the new one? It was less than a month ago that I wiped the drive and ran a fresh install. Will windows still work and everything if I were to do this?

The current system drive is a 160gb seagate, while the new drive is a 80gb wd sata. I know windows makes a template of your hardware, will this change be a problem?

Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

You should be able to use some sort of drive imaging software.

I noticed your new drive is half the size of the old one. It might be an idea (if the old drive has only a single partition) to divide it into 2 partitions using partition magic or similar.
This way everything will be on the C drive & there will be an empty logical drive after it (large enough to hold image of C

Then you can create the image of the first partition & store it on the second partition.
When you add in the new drive, just restore the image to it from the old drive.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

What type of imaging software would be best for this?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 07:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

I use norton Ghost. This is a commercial product you have to pay for, but there may be others out there you can get for free.

As far as the drive size goes, it does not matter unless the drive you are imaging has more data on it than the new drive can hold.

I just ghosted an old 8 Gb hard drive to a new 40 Gb hard drive today. I have gosted a 120 to a 40, same way.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes, I use Acronis True Image and make frequent back ups of my drives, and I must say it is the most useful program I have ever come across.

Basically, you technically will have to install Windows so to speak, but you can then simply revert that OS to the image of your previous OS and it will restore all of your previous settings, files etc.

It is important to note that if your files paths or anything similar to that have changed, it can quite badly botch up your image and result in many of your programs not running.

I do believe you can also obtain some sort of cloning software which will actually "clone" your partition and allow to easily copy it to another partition, but I haven't used such a program before and I don't know all the fine details.

http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing...cts/trueimage/
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I have norton ghost. Can I do this with ghost? Gaara, if I understand correctly, I have to install xppro on the new drive then load the ghost file on that drive?

What do you mean about the file paths and them changing?

I havent used ghost but have gone through and looked at it.

Will Windows have a problem with this new drive when it says it has been installed on a different drive?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'm not familiar with ghost so I can't be certain, but I am certain you will have to install Windows anyways, since ghost is an application and requires an operating system to run.

As for the file path question, I'm sure this won't be problem, but just to fill you in, I'll explain just in case. Some applications install files to the OS partition regardless of where you have set the installation destination folder (Microsoft Office being an example). Let's say you write the image, then install Office. Then you restore the image. Although it may technically still be on another partition, it has other files on the OS partition that weren't carried over, therefore it can't find them and the program can't work.

Also, let's say your OS was originally installed under C:\Windows and when you install the new OS, it installs under D:\Windows. This basically means that all your previous files have file paths C:\Windows\*, and since they are now under D:\Windows\*, the OS will look for them under the original directory, won't find them, and will get confused and probably not work properly. Installing the OS to the same partition path name will resolve all these problems.

The only problems I can think of are the ones I've listed above, although computers ALWAYS have problems, it's ineveitable, so I couldn't possibly list them all. :P
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

No need to install Xp on the new drive.

Ghost will run from a boot disc CD or floppy drive.

Ghost will make an exact image of one hard drive to another.

In doing so, this will automatically erase all data on the disk being written to.

After it is done, you make the new hard drive your master, boot it up and you will see that the image transfer created the EXACT image of your other hard drive. All of your programs, settings, data, etc... will all be in the same places, nothing will look or act different.

The only thing that will change is your storage capacity, going from 80 Gb to 160 Gb.

__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Switch is right, any decent drive imaging program should have the ability to be run from a bootable floppy disk or CD. You do not need to install an OS on the new drive first.
Samm is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 10:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Sounds good. I'll look more into ghost and how it works, then attempt this some weekend I have spare time. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.