New ram crashing computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Cheeky Chino
Default New ram crashing computer

Hi everyone,

I just bought new ram the other day (512mb Kingmax DDR-400 3200) and was running it with some old 256mb DDR 266 which i have sinec removed from the box and am now running a single 512 stick.

My problem is that now when i try to run any games my computer simply reboots instantly, i've tried loading World of Warcraft and Half-Life 2, both crash when loading the game, the games dont even load once i double click to load the game it loads a little then when the game actually launches it reboots.

I dont actually see the game. just screen turns black and reboots.


Anyone know what could be causing these system restarts?

Thanks
Cheeky Chino
__________________

Cheeky Chino is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

I don't wanna jump in over my head or anything, but could you detail a little more of what you've tried so far?

my first thought was maybe a virus of some sort. would suck to have ram make it through boot and everything then just crash on games. doesnt seem right.

another possibilty that comes to mind, is video driver problems. I cant say anything for sure, but try out those things. someone else probably has a better idea than me so yeah...

*slight bump
__________________

__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You should download memtest86+ just google for that name.

Put it on a bootable floppy or CD restart your machine and boot from it. It'll thoroughly test your RAM because from what you're saying I believe that's at fault.

If the RAM errors in that test then I believe that's what's causing your problem
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.