New RAM again and still keeps crashing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2004, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Unhappy New RAM again and still keeps crashing

Hi,
Two weeks ago I submitted this post and was suggested that I use non-ECC RAM from Crucial. Now I got the non-ECC 512MB DDR RAM and seems like the problem still exists. System starts slow with the new RAM in, and Windows XP still keeps crashing. Please help me Thanks.
__________________

xiaohai is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

maybe it is a corrupted installation of windows xp.
format your drive, and reinstall if you dont have any vital data on that hard disk.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

I just ran several tests. It seems like everthing works fine with either one of the RAMs but not both. Both RAM works fine on both DIMM1 and DIMM2 seperately, which I assume there's nothing wrong with the slots. I don't know what situation this would be. But there shouldn't be incompatibility issue going on here as I followed Crucials instructions. I have a hunch that it's the PSU. I remember I dropped my case (fortunately without the harddrive in) when moving to another apartment. Or is it the Motherboard? Please give me more hints. Thanks.
xiaohai is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 07:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

are the two sticks of RAM you are using different in any way?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Just a tip - make sure you also check your your other hardware as it could be something else. ex: Graphics card.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

I'm not sure what the differences are. They are both from Crucial. The 256MB PC2100 DDR was purchased more than 2 years ago and has 8 black chips on both side of the PCB. The new one is a 512MB PC2100 DDR, which has 8 black chips on only one side of the PCB. My video card is integrated on the motherboard. I'm not sure how to check problems related to other hardwares.
xiaohai is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

could that be the issue guys
256MB PC2100 DDR &
512MB PC2100 DDR

maybe there is a subtle difference in timing?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

leave the 256 out and try that .I would use 2 sticks of 512 instead of mixing them up if it were me.Are you able to adjust your memory timings ?
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

You mean just use the 512 stick? I'm actually doing that right now as the system runs fine with only one stick, no matter the 256 one or 512 one. What do you mean by adjusting the timings? I know both of them are CL2.5
xiaohai is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 06:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

R the two ram same brand? Sometime different brand of ram will get conflict!
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.