New processor 3200 or 3500? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 02:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Cool I'll go with the 3200+ but is it possible to OC it to fx-55 speeds with the AMD heatsink and fan? Or go OEM with a thermaltake xp120 and 120mm fan for an extra £18?

Will I need some thermal paste stuff too?
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

BUMP
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea man it would be better if you had thermal paste it would be better and of course the aftermarket heatsink is going to be better. also thanks for making this forum I made this forum a while back and noone replied.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 04:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Heh I'm confussed it said I need a 120mm fan to go with the thermaltake xp120 but what kinda fan, the normal case kind? Or one of these: http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...subcat_uid=649
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 04:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Just wait a little till the venice cores come out nubios posted about it
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:10 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

What's that? I've got to wait 2+ weeks for my graphics card and want to be running by then. Plus I'm in the UK and things get released over here ages later.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well the thread is called venice cores A+
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:39 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Here's my problem:

A 3200 OEM, plus thermtake and fan would cost to around £130ish pounds at the cheapest places.

Or

A 3500 Retail pack, with 3 year guarantee, AMD Heatsink and fan would cost £150.


So which would be the fastest? I'm guessing the 3500 cause it has a 0.2ghz unclocked lead but what are the two processors capable of overclocked?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 08:54 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I don't know buy you should really wait till the venice core because that is just like the 3500 or you can get the san diego chip
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 09:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

When are these coming out! Lol I'll have be running my new machine in 2weeks+ time and don't want to wait further. Plus the wait may be longer cause I'm in the UK and delievery from US takes 2weeks+
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.