New processor 3200 or 3500? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default New processor 3200 or 3500?

I'm buying components for my first built PC and dunno which processor to get... It's going to be used to serious gaming and have a few questions regarding which to CPU to get.

1/ What's the difference between Newcastle and Winchester models?
2/ Is the AMD heatsink any good for overclocking?
3/ How far could you roughly overclock a 3200 or 3500 using fan cooling or using the AMD heatsink thingy.
__________________

hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

1) Winchester use smaller technology, (90nm opposed to 130 of the newcastles) which will mean that the processor will run cooler, you can't get a 3200 newcastle.

2) It is alright for overclocking, when I had stock my cpu ran at 40*C idle and 52*C load. If you really want to overcklock far get a aftermarket one, thermaltake xp120 is the best, closly followed by the Zalman 7700 cu one.

3) A 3200 could get to 2.6ghz quite easily with the right motherboard, heatsink, ram.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I'm confussed which to get cause I read a guide/review to OCing a 3500 and that managed 2.65ghz. :s

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1758
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

A bench test, http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20040601/index.html Its a 754 3200 though.

I would personally spend my money on the graphics card, and then spend the money left over on the cpu, but not putting a underpowered cpu in there.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I've got everything except a CPU:

Evga 6800gt
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR
Corsair 1GB DDR TwinX (2x512MB)

So which should I get 3200, 3500. Newcastle or Winchester?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

3500 would be slightly faster and its what im getting for now

im not going to say future proof (whoops!) as we've been told not to in another thread lol


but it depends on your budget
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

definetly get the winchester over newcastle. if all you do is game, there isn't much of a point in getting a 3500. get a 3200 and you'll be just fine.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Would an OC'd 3500 be alot faster than a OC'd 3200? Or would an OC'd 3200 do a great job at gaming?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hewhohasissues
Would an OC'd 3500 be alot faster than a OC'd 3200? Or would an OC'd 3200 do a great job at gaming?
A non-OC'd 3200 would do an AMAZING job at gaming. Don't worry about OC'ing, with a CPU that fast there is no need to. You wouldn't see that much of a difference in gaming anyway because games are becoming more and more GPU dependent as opposed to CPU dependent.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Worry about OC'ing as you can notice a speed difference, so get a 3200+ whinchester and OC it to fx-55 speeds (without 1 meg of l2 cache though)
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.