New Power Supply + Old Board & Electricity 101 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2004, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Talking New Power Supply + Old Board & Electricity 101

Ok, here's something i'm not entirely familiar with. Maybe someone out there knows the answer to this one.

I'm putting together a linux box (finally) out of bits and pieces of a few old machines i have laying around. I'm planning to use a motherboard that originally was powered by a 200 watt Power Supply and a 500 mhz AMD chip. I recently bought a new case for my new build and it came equipped with a 400 watt Power Supply. Now i'm wondering, is there a such thing as supplying TOO MUCH power/wattage to a machine? I'm not sure how the whole thing works, and i admit i really should study up on electricity 101 to familiarize myself.

Will i have any problems powering my older mainboard with my newer/much more powerful Power Supply? The power supply has the right connector for the mainboard, so that's not a problem. I guess to summarize...

Does the mainboard and peripherials draw (or suck in) whatever electricity/wattage it needs, or does the power supply give a certain amount of wattage/juice to the devices depending on it's own size/wattage? Some basic electricity 101 is needed here. Just wanna know if there's a chance i'll supply too much power to my old board and fry it lol.

The more i think about it... i think the devices draw in what they need. Which means i'd be fine... right?

The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Thumbs up

Yes, the motherboard only takes as much as it needs from the power supply, the PSU doesn't force 400watts or watever of electricity into the Motherboard. If you read on the labe, it will even say "400Watts MAXIMUM power" or something like that. The amount of watts is the maximum amount of power the PSU can give out.

Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400

Kewl. Thanks. I figured it was something like that but it doesn't hurt to ask. I'm no electrician, so i wasn't sure how the equipment was supplied it's power. Now i know.
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.