New power-supply OR case with PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2004, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default New power-supply OR case with PSU?

Hi all !

I was wondering: For my new machine, I'd like to upgrade my Power-supply (PSU). I'm looking for at least a dual fan one. And I'd like it to be reliable and "quiet". No necessarily totally silent, but not loudy.

I don't really know how much watts I need, but I have a 350W right now on my 850 Duron 'puter, and it fills my needs. Here's roughly what my future ride will be made of:

Mildly Overclocked Athlon 2500+
One S-ATA 120 Gb HD, or one S-ATA 36Gb 10k RPM + one IDE 60Gb 7200RPM
Two CD-ROM drives (Burner + DVD)
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro (used) or new 9600 pro or XT...
One 6 inches cold cathode + some LEDs

Should I go with this "stealth" 420W 3-fan PSU and keep my No-name work-in-progress case...
Vantec 420A

...or buy a new case/380W PSU combo for 30$(canadian) more?
Antec Sonata
Very silent, but single fan . Oh, and it doesn't seem to be S-ATA ready.

If I had more $$$, I'd buy both...
__________________

jeece is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

here's the case i'm picking up...its a canadian company and the prices are always rock bottom:

(ATX Case+ 500 Watt, dual fan)
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...u=DRG-BU-ULTRA
__________________

BlindApex is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

500 Watts should be enough to run all of your devices. I think it is big enough for what you are doing. You should make sure that you have adequate ventallation for any case that you use. You should also look to put in extra fans. Computers run very hot and if you do not keep them cool enough they are just boat anchors.
mitschej is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

usually bundle power supplies are bad quality because people choose cheap bundles, but the one you chose is good quality. maybe it is a bit expensive though.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 03:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

thats a nice looking case BlindApex.

I'm tight fisted so i'd go for el cheapo.

wat part of 'nowhere' are you from jeece?
ADZ is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I'm about 50km (30 miles) east of Montreal, Quebec.

And about the PSU, I'll go with the Vantec solution. Guess I'll have enough of 420W. Plus, the triple-fan design looks interesting.
__________________

jeece is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.