New Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2004, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default New Power Supply

So my dell i got only comes with a 215 watt power supply and I have an ATI-9800 xt video card, so I think I should maybe get a better power supply, And I was wondering which one I should get, And is there any disadvantage to getting a power supplky that supplies like 600 watts per se, Like is there a point where you have too much wattage.

So whats a suggested power supply?

And is there any disadvantage or risk in getting a powerful power supply, thatr supplies like 600 watts for example
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

IS it like bad if I get alot over what i need? Like say I get a 600 watt but only need like 300? is ahving the extra 600 bad for your computer?

and what is the best brand when it comes to power supplies?
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

There's no disadvantage or somethin' like that in having a mammoth power supply .... except for the runnin' up of ur electricity bills
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

True, Well What is a Suggested GOOD quality brand, I want something reliable here,


And I read somewhere that if you bought a namebrand system, you might not be able to change the power supplies, because theya re specially made for that computer only, I have dell 8300 , and I was wondering if any other people that had dells, were able to change out their power supply,


Also, What are some good Brands for Case And System Fans?

And Is it a good idea to upgrade aftermarket case fans, since mine kinda suck, but what are some really good suggested brands,
I saw some nice artiq fans, ?
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 08:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

hello??????
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

I'm not sure if Dell still has this problem or not but in my experience, all the Dell systems I've seen use the proprietary Dell motherboard and power supply. This means that when you want to change power supplies you have to buy a new one and switch some of the pins around or buy one specificly made for dell computers (3rd party or otherwise). You system seems pretty high end, the best thing to do is check if your motherboard says Dell anywehre on it. IF it does, you may not be able to change your powersupply.

Stupid OEM's...
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Antec makes top notch power supplies and PC cases. There is another brand that's very good - doesn't come to my mind right now. If I remember it, I'll post back here.

Stay away from the el-cheapo brands with el-cheapo prices -- you will be wasting your money.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.