New PC Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2005, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 156
Default New PC Build

Okay the idea of this computer is to be quiet, very! (idle, 27/4)

I'd like it to not use up much electric! (165W! )

Also, it need to be portable! So I can take it over to my friends (not much though)

Maybe the odd game, it would be great to know that games like Doom 3 and ...... maybe BattleField 2 (asking to much?) to run!


- Case/Mobo/PSU (£58)

- Memory (£20)

- Hard Disk (£45)

- CPU (£62)

- GFX (£30 // £40)


- Mouse (£26)

OcUK (

Akasa AK-827 Ultra Quiet Copper Base CPU Cooler

Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound

Zboard - Doom 3


I'll be adding another 256MB of RAM later!

After all this is NOT a gaming machine! ..... one or two though, who CAN resist!?

What GFX card?

AuBrEy Online is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

no that computer will not be able to run doom 3 or even bf2 u will need at least 512 i know u say u will be adding it later i recognize that thats ok but that card u will wanna get like a 6600GT
that would be a good one since u dont have much choice in the UK CPU is ok not that great thought but should run those game OK

Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 156
Default Umm .... okay then!

I could use that card it's PCIE (I have that one though, but by Asus)

I was thinking a 6200?

Might run Doom 3 smoothly ..... on LOW!

Still good and BF2 maybe not!
AuBrEy Online is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Calzinger's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger

You can run Doom 3 with virtually any "newer" gpu. By newer, I don't just me a GeForce 6 or the ATI X8*0s. Most people consider Doom 3 to be the most beast graphics demanding game out there, and it is.

However, you can easily play Doom 3 on low quality with almost any GPU. I was able to push 1024x768 High Quality on my 5700 LE very easily, running an acceptable average framerate of 40.

You should definitely be able to play Doom 3 with a 6200, but don't expect some fantastic quality settings. BF2, I think that may be a bit far out of reach.

Keep in mind that many modern games are processor bound. You can get a ridiculously beast GPU, but if you have a lousy processor, then it's all gone to waste.
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
majistic's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434

Well I dont know of any good VC that can run on 165W PSU. Good ones need at least like 275W or more.
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.