new pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 08:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

so if im getting this correct.. i can oc a amd 64 3200 venice to fx55 levels for much much less? thats really cool
__________________

jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Thats the whole point of overclocking =)
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

the venices werent out at the time he purchased is my guess. i have a winchester for my computer that i am on right now and im only OC'd to about 2.4GHz right now but i can get way higher i just dont really care how high i get on this compy. my friend and i are making an extreme overclocking setup this summer hopefully lol .

but he got his cpu before venices came out.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

really cool.. i know i already mentioned this, ,but do u think the sli performance (which is significant) is justifiably in relation to its price? i mean.. i would def get it if i had the dough
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

i think ill get an sli.. whats the best motherboard for that (amd processor of course) that allows great oc.?
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

You said it yourself.. SLI's worth is relative to your yearly income. Most games dont have support for it yet.

the dfi lanparty nf4 is the only board currently that supports 16x in both pcie channels.. I've never used this board before so everything i say is based upon what ive been told by others. From what i understand its a great overclocker and its very solid. Based upon that and the fact that its the only 2x 16x board avalible i would say that its the only board to get.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

huh? no....

with one card, the lanparty works x2/x16

with two cards, the lanparty works x8/x8
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.