new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default new pc

thanks to diablo and others.. i have ditcehd cyber power for monarch..


Case: 100744 - NO PS - Lian-Li PC-6070 Plus Aluminum Ult
Power Supply: 100162 - PS 520W - OCZ OCZ52012U ModStream ATX 2.0 Case Fan: None
Motherboard: 110224 - DFI Lan Party UT NForce4 Ultra-D Audio/GB
Processor: 12A209 - AMD Athlon 64 4000+ 1MB 90nm Rev. E San D
Thermal Grease: 800018 - Shin-Etsu G675 Thermal Grease
Heat Sink Fan: 130150 - Thermaltake A1772 AMD
Memory: 140509 - DDR (400) 3200 - 1 GB (2 pcs 512) OCZ Gol
Hard Drive: 150239 - SATA - Western Digital (WD740GD) 74 GB/10
CD-RW/DVD-RW: 160611 - DVD-RW - Plextor PX-716SA DVD±RW 16x8x16x
Video Card: 190676 - eVGA GeForce 6800 256mb 256bitDDR/PCI-E/H

Subtotal for 80311 with your selected options: $1,798.00


WHat do u guys think? any suggestions?
__________________

jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

1) You dont need a raptor as your OS drive for one.. I'm starting to get irritated at the haze of confusion surrounding those drives. No matter how many times or how many different ways i explain it people still keep recommending it =/

The raptor drives have 2 heads, so they allow read/writes at the same time. They're also 10,000rpm so they get a little faster throughput. But you arent going to notice **ANY** difference between it and a WD 40gb 8mb cache 7200rpm ide drive. Those extra 2800RPMS are just killing the life of the drive especially if you're going to be gaming on the system.

2) Getting a 4000 isnt going to do you anymore good than getting a 3200, especially if you're overclocking. You're just flushing your money down the toilet. The 3000,3200,3500,3800,4000,fx series, etc all come off the same wafer.. Meaning the same core that is in the 3000 is the same core that is in the fx-55.. The only difference is where the multiplier is locked at.

3) If you aren't going to be overclocking there is no reason to get overclocking memory

4) the evga 6800gts are sweet good choice, and the dfi sli board is the only one ive seen as of yet that will run both pcie slots @ 16x.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

thanks so much.. i think i will get the xp 3200 and overclock it.. i really need this advice, since i dont want to flush my money down the drain.. with that change, will the system be good?
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

oh.. and whats a good raid controller?
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

you mean the amd athlon 64 3200 not the xp3200 big difference
and you shouldnt need a raid controller with that board
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

sorry.. meant the 64 3200.. how fast could it be potentially overclocked to? perhaps to fx55 levels? thanks
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

For the price of the raptor drive you should be able to get a 80gb 7200rpm 8mb cache drive as your C: aswell as a 200gb or so sata or ide drive to store all your music and stuff on.

If you want to do some overclocking i'd suggest the amd64 3200 venice.. It will be fairly easy/straight forward to take the 2.0ghz clock and crank it up to 2.8-2.9.

If you want to save some money, or be able to get another component.. I'd also suggest getting non-overclocking (cheap) ram and just changing the memory divider so that it always sits at 200mhz (so that you overclock only your processor and not your ram)
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

spend the money get some reasonably good ram
speaking of ram
www.zipzoomfly.com has a sale on their corsair value ram
75 after rebate for dual 512m sticks of pc3200
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 53
Default

how come u use a winchester?
jm85 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 08:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

because i bought my system before it (the venice core) came out..

I had an amd64 3500 venice i brought home from work to test out for a couple weeks. So i know all about its overclocking abilities, and it far exceeds what a winchester can do. But im happy with what i have for now =) When i buy my 3 computer cluster setup, all 3 systems will be running venice 939s clocked at 2.85ish (just to be safe)
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.